monkeys and marbles

Haiku Friday – where’d the funny go?

Posted on: January 18, 2008

been all doom and gloom
my writing so serious
it’s just not like me

my loyal readers
i’m sure you’ve been wondering
where’d the funny go?

this blog has been so serious….nothing but serious. all kinds of downer posts. granted, sometimes life is not so funny. especially here in the monkey house. and it is cathartic to write down everything that’s been happening, and everything i’ve been feeling. but come on! funny things happen here all the time…i’ve got two toddler boys! how could there not be funny things happening?

it’s like when the funny stuff is going on, i don’t have time or the chance to write about it. and then some doom-‘n-gloom comes along, and that’s what i end up posting.

and i’m funny dammit! right? it’s not just me that thinks i’m funny, is it? i can be funny! what happened to all the funny posts i used to write? huh?

never fear, my blogland friends. i will be searching for my funny-bone high and low this weekend. and by gosh and by golly i’m gonna post something funny next week.

what…you don’t think i’ll do it? oh, just you watch me!

this post brought to you by late-night caffeine and lack of sleep

Haiku Friday

26 Responses to "Haiku Friday – where’d the funny go?"

oh – I hope you find your funny!

From what I have read on your site (lurking, of course!) you are mad funny. It will come back with time (pun intended!).

hey…no worries!! although, i’m basically new to your blog so, i find it thoughtful and well written…but, when you’re feeling funny, i’ll laugh.
so, hope you find your funny, honey!! oh, i’m such a poet!!
have an awesome day!

Shit! I can never seem to find my funny. And when I actually attempt some humor, then I think, this is not funny, so I scrap it.

It’ll come back to you, maybe some gigantic, hysterical event that just begs for blogging about.

You’ll hit your funny bone, again, soon. I’m sure of it. Till then, know that you have bloggy pals that are here for you. XOXOX

Funny comes and goes.
Just relax and you will find..
Laughter soon, you’ll see.
Hugs and blessings,

Forcing the funny since 2008. I love it! Either way, we still puffy heart you Cate.

I have been the same way lately. I blame it on the January blues.
You are funny, and we know it. Great ku!

I’m sure it’s just a phase…don’t fret.

And you can laugh about your lack of humor when it’s all over…;)

I’ve lost my funny mojo as well…

Hopefully, your funny bone can tickle mine and we can get on with this…

hee hee..

It’s not just you – you ARE funny. Keep it up!

Okay- is it sick that I totally agree with those of you who said that their funny has been gone lately too!?!?

I feel like my posts have been so out in the blues that I have been writing fluffy crap just to keep in the habit of writing!!!

I think it’s gotta come back soon. Maybe it is the January blahs, blues whatever you want to call it!

Love to all-WM

there must be something in the water.

love you funny, love you doomish.

either way.

hugs

Shucks, it’s great to laugh… But sometimes you just gotta be gloomy, you know?

I’ll be back… for some laughter or gloom. Whichever. I’m not at all picky. 🙂

Pfft…you is the queen of funny…we know that. But you gotta blog about what you gotta blog about. We aren’t here to be entertained…we’re here ’cause we love ya!

No worries, Cate. I love your blog because it’s REAL. Sometimes life is funny and sometimes it aint. I’ll be here either way.

I bet something HI-larious will happen this weekend. Wait…. wait…. wait…. for it.

You ARE funny and real and sweet…shall I go on???

It’s the January factor, Cate. It takes all the fun & leaves nothing but blah. You’ll be in prime form very soon, I’m sure.

Doom, funny, it’s all good because the title of your blog makes up for any days that life isn’t as quite fabulous in every single way as it is on others.

Hey, don’t you worry about it, goodness knows I’ve been lacking the funny, too. I do think it’s the time of year (was it you who said that?) and we’ve all got our serious caps on. If you are feeling serious, then by golly, be serious! 🙂

We’ll stick with you one way or another.
Let us know when you find that funny bone 🙂

Don’t worry. You get to be however you are and we will still come. Nothing like too much pressure on yourself to keep the funny away!

[…] Scrolling Saturday, i saw this post and new it was the one. it’s the perfect post to follow yesterday’s haiku about how serious my blog has been lately. […]

I think to be balanced we need the good and the bad. Being real on a blog and in real life is important. From what I have read so far, the funny will be back 🙂

Ahh. no worries. We read you because you’re real. No need to be funny all the time.

Leave a comment