monkeys and marbles

Haiku Friday: packing sucks

Posted on: January 25, 2008

packing up the house
an endless sea of cardboard
will it ever end?

been packing for weeks
never be able to tell
haven’t made a dent

surpised at what’s found
where did all this crap come from?
do we need it all?

less than a month now
will packing be done in time?
really not so sure

wow…this packing thing is crazy! we’ll pack 10 huge boxes of crap treasured items…and it still doesn’t look any different. like we haven’t packed anything!

my rec room in the basement is filling up with boxes of everything and bags of clothes, yet the top two floors look like we haven’t touched them. i feel like it will never be done.

we are currently scheduled to move on February 23rd. that’s 29 days from now. 4 weeks from tomorrow. we have 4 weekends until the move weekend.

oh…we’re so screwed.

Haiku Friday
36 Responses to "Haiku Friday: packing sucks"

For all the complaining I do about the military lifestyle having movers come in and pack us up is ssssooooooooooooooooo worth it! But it will get done and you will be amazed !

xoxo

ugh Cate. we had to move right after Alex was born, then we lived in temp housing and realized we missed very little of our stuff.

posting again to fix my email address.

Oh yes. Packing sucks.

I feel for you.

hey cate, we did this just a year ago and every minute sucks big time. it’s so worth it in the end, though. plug on. plug on.

It’ll get done, for sure; it always done! In the meantime, just keep writing wicked haiku!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the special compliment today, Cate.

I agree with the other gals, it’ll get done, it’ll be worth it, and you have extra special permission to be a bit more mental than usual…heh.

I’m weird. I love packing. I’ve already started for our move in April because I’m dorky like that.

OMG!!!!! I think I just read the haiku of my life! We’re moving Feb 16th too!!! Isn’t it nuts the things you find stashed away in odd places? I think this weekend we’ll be making 10 trips to the Goodwill…..I’m getting a bit stir crazy with all of this “stuff” everywhere…..

Oh! and good luck with the move πŸ™‚

Sorry for lauging. I think we should all be required to move every three years. Crap multiplies like rabbits. It just GROWS. I totally understand. I moved just after baby. Now? With all the kid crap? EGADS

Ugh. I can’t imagine packing up a whole house. That is nuts. Good luck!

Nows a great time to purge. When we put our stuff in storage in anticipation of moving (didn’t happen yet), we got rid of so much stuff. And now I have tons of charitable contributions for my 2007 taxes!

We move once a year since we flip houses and often live in the ones we are investing in..and well..it stinks. I hate packing!! I always pack ahead of time but end up running around like a chicken with my head cut off moving week. good luck with the packing though!

It is amazing how much stuff we get….I am trying a task I saw on a clean-up show – 14 bags in 7 days …. every day for one week you gather one garbage bag to trach and one bag to donate…and in 7 days you have 14 bags less of stuff…perhaps with the big move you could increase the numbers!!!

Good luck…I personally have voed to never move again. EVER!

it is truly amazing…all the stuff we accumulate…that we don’t really even need!!!
and, you’ll be surprised. by the time the big day comes…you’ll be ready!!! i’m sure of it. listen…if i could pack up my house in a week, without very much help (still mad at hubby, thank you very much!), then…i know..KNOW you can do it in a month!!!
xoxo

i’m impressed that you’re packing and still over 48 hours left… we’re procrastinators, i mean we work best under pressure.

moving is totally the pits. i feel your pain. when we moved almost four years ago, i thought i was gonna DIE!!!!!!

but you’ll make it. somehow it always happens!

Oh, I feel for you! I HATE packing! Hate it with a fiery passion. But you’ll be glad when it’s all done. That much closer to the move!

Good luck!

I hear you on all of the crap you accumulate over the years. I just blame it on the boys….that is what you are doing too, right? It is all their fault! πŸ˜‰

((HUGS)) I’ve missed reading your blog!

Moving is always such a pain in the ass! Best of luck to you!

I hope all is well with you!

just stopping by to say hello! hope all is well with you!
xoxo

CaaaaaaaAAAte???

Please just let us know you are OK.

Good luck on the move . . . found you, ugh, can’t remember now. Reading some of your past posts. Wow, can I relate (apparently, a lot of people can–seeing all your comments).

Love the blog!

Found your site from Shamelessly Sassy’s – just wanted to say hi!

And I agree – packing is THE worst.

Hey there….I found you through fussy’s new community!

I suffered from Post-baby blues too! It was pure hell! I suffer from panic attacks and anxiety, so I know your pain!

You seem very strong!!!

We moved 7 months ago and it seems like just yesterday. Well, okay, I probably did just unpack the last box yesterday. Maybe that’s why. =)

AFF is right. Crap does multiply like rabbits. Moving though? Oh that’s exciting (once your IN that is)! πŸ™‚

Hi…I found your link from wineymomma’s blog. I understand that stress. When we moved last year, we had a month to do it. We spent the last 3 days of our move just wiping stuff into boxes (that are still, a year later, not unpacked) in a whirlwind of “packing”. There’s a lot of stuff we still can’t find and a lot of treasures we’re still discovering. I can’t figure out if the worse part of moving is the packing or supposed unpacking.

how are you????

Just moved last weekend; I am all about the moving purge, that way we don’t miss it when we get there. We moved to a smaller place so I am still trying to cram it all in. Moving with little ones is tough too. You can do it.

Just wanted to check in and see how you are!! πŸ™‚

Wow girl! Hope it went well!

I am about to move for the second time in 6 months and am ready to just through away all of my belongings! ACK!!!! I hate moving!!!

Hoping you are settled now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

